

Duck Island Yacht Club 2013 PHRF Race Series

NOTICE OF RACE

et . . .

Dates:	1 ^{sτ} Warning:		
Wednesday Spring Series: May 8,15, 22, 29, June 5, 12, 19	1830		
Wednesday Summer Series: June 26, July 3, 10, 17, August 14, 21, 28	1830		
Commissioning Day Regatta: May 11	1100		
Shirley Hall & Cruiser/Racer Series: May 14, 28, June 11, 25, July 9, August 13, 20	1830		
Fleet Captain's Series: July 24, 31, Aug. 7	1830		
Single/Double Handed Race and Commodores Invitational: TBD	1200		
Fagan Series: September 8, 15, 22, 29, October 6	1300		

Entries: Entries close 48 hours prior to the scheduled First Warning Signal of the first race of each series. Late fee will apply 48 hours before close of entries. Entries should be created online at www.americanregatta.com/divc.

Start: In or near Duck Island Roads, Westbrook, CT.

Rules: These races will be governed by *The Racing Rules of Sailing 2013-2016*, *Prescriptions of US Sailing* this *Notice of Race* and the *DIYC Sailing Instructions* with appropriate *Supplements*.

Rules Changes: The Sailing Instructions change several rules in addition to: *Rule 77*-Appendix G sail numbers are not required, *Race Signals*-Postponement signaled ashore, and *Rule 52* – Manual Power

Hall Series: For the Hall Series, a majority of the persons on board must be female and a female shall steer.

Cruiser/Racer Series: is intended as an introduction to racing and is open to skippers who have not raced in DIYC events more than just last year. Races start after the Shirley Hall classes start.

Commodore's Invitational: Eligibility: Anyone who is interested in learning to sailboat race with DIYC. DIYC has an active racing program with many sailors who have years of racing experience. Some DIYC sailors/coaches will be available to volunteer their knowledge and experience aboard a non-member's boat for the race. (The Captain and or boat owner shall hold such volunteer/coach and DIYC harmless for any and all damages and or liability claims as a result of this event.)

Courses: Will be selected immediately prior to each race by the Race Committee, and signaled in accordance with the *Sailing Instructions*. The Race Committee may conduct multiple races for some classes, weather and time permitting.

Sailing Instructions: Will be available at least one week before the first Warning Signal of the first race of each series on the Duck Island Yacht Club web site <u>www.diyc.com</u>. Notices to Competitors will be posted on the Race Committee bulletin board located below the deck in the front of the clubhouse building, Hammock Road South, Westbrook, CT.

Classes: Several spinnaker and non-spinnaker classes using PHRF-ECSA ratings determined by the Race Committee prior to each Series. Four or more paid entries of equal rating may request to be a separate class. Each entrant must have a *current, valid* PHRF-ECSA or DIYC certificate available in the PHRF-ECSA or DIYC online database before the *Close of Entries*.

	•						
Series:	Wednesday: Spring <u>OR</u> Summer	Wednesday: Spring <u>AND</u> Summer	Commissioning Day	Shirley Hall Series	Fleet Captain's Series	Single/Double & Commodore's Invitational	Fagan Series
Member	\$140	\$220	\$35	\$90	\$60	\$35	\$115
Non-member	\$180	\$275	\$40	\$135	\$85	\$40	\$135

Entry Fee summary. For details see www.americanregatta.com/diyc.

No Charge for Cruiser/Racer Clinic and series. Registration required.

Additional Fees:

\$5.00 additional per series for entrants who are not USSA members

Mail Checks and Paper Entries To:

DIYC Race Committee c/o Todd McKenzie 37 Overlook Drive Westbrook, CT 06498

Scoring: PHRF-based time-on-time scoring for each race, and the low-point scoring system for series overall results in each class. If more than five races are scored in a series, one race will be excluded.

Results and Prizes: Traditional token prizes for the first three places in each class in each race will be presented at the end of each day's racing when results are announced at the Clubhouse post-race. Series prizes will be awarded to the top three finishers in each class at the DIYC annual awards banquet at the conclusion of the racing season.

Other PHRF events: Check the master schedule for additional PHRF events.

* * * Rev. 15 April 2013* * *